Here we go! Meal Prep 101

spicy sweet potato hummus, pomogranate seeds, cheese sticks, carrots, turkey sausage and egg medley, steel cut oats, sauteed spicy sesame oil kale, cinnamon rosemary and walnut butternut squash, lemon and garlic baked salmon, rosemary bread

spicy sweet potato hummus, pomogranate seeds, cheese sticks, carrots, turkey sausage and egg medley, steel cut oats, sauteed spicy sesame oil kale, cinnamon rosemary and walnut butternut squash, lemon and garlic baked salmon, rosemary bread

Hiiiiiiiiii All! So here we go. My name is Taylor and I am a dietetic intern and pediatric masters student at Saint Louis University. I have been seriously looking into blogging ever since I went to the Food and Nutrition Conference Expo (FNCE) in Houston this past fall. I have been asked time and time again to start a blog but scared out of my whits because I’m not the best writer, I have minimal time, and I obviously have too many excuses. So I’m kicking that to the curb right now!

Turkey sausage and egg scramble, chicken kale gnocchi soup, walnut pumpkin chocolate chip pancakes, rosemary and pumpkin hummus, chicken and wild rice, grapes, jello, cheese sticks, edamame, and dates. One thing I hate - the clean up! Oh well! If you keep good food in your fridge you will eat good food!

Turkey sausage and egg scramble, chicken kale gnocchi soup, walnut pumpkin chocolate chip pancakes, rosemary and pumpkin hummus, chicken and wild rice, grapes, jello, cheese sticks, edamame, and dates. One thing I hate – the clean up! Oh well! If you keep good food in your fridge you will eat good food!

I’ve been struggling for about 3 weeks to figure out what my first post should be. What better than what I’ve had the most comments on – DUUUHHHHH! So this post will be dedicated to food prep. I live by myself on a broke grad student budget – but this doesn’t stop me from getting the best bang for my buck! I love organic, packaged, grass fed, processed, non-GMO, full-fat, local/seasonal/sustainable foods. I just love food and eat for the health of it! Health is a relationship that YOU have between YOU and YOUR body! So you have to feed it for the results YOU want. There are plenty of diets out there but I can assure you a slow lifestyle change will be the one that benefits you the most. With that being said the results I want are: a lean and toned body, good skin/hair/nails, a positive attitude, a good nights sleep, tons of energy, a brain that is always critically thinking, and a overall great state of health.

017 (3)

guacamole, tomatoes, eggs, overnight steel cut oats, nature valley bars, cucumbers, carrots, grapes, spicy black bean hummus, cheese sticks, baked salsa chicken, Spanish rice with spicy baked okra.

I make my menus each week, however I do keep staple items on the weekly cycle. Examples are: steel cut oats, eggs, turkey sausage, yogurt and cheese sticks. What you see in the pictures below are a few past meal preps! I typically make my menus on Friday afternoon and shop at the farmers market and grocery store on Saturday and meal prep Sunday. The biggest take home message is that if you fail to plan, you are planning to fail. A few tips to try: MAKE A PLAN, ask whoever you cook for to help make the menu, bring them shopping with you, look for recipes online, shop local farmers markets, join a co-op, shop the grocery perimeter for most of your basket, use coupons, shop sales. Pick one thing to focus on and try it that week – if it doesn’t work, try something different. Find what works best for you!

If you can take the time and at least prep a few foods this might change the outcome of your morning which could change the outlook on your whole day. This will be a learning experience for me so hang in there because I’m learning as fast as I can on how to work a blog!

In Health,

Taylor

let me know your thoughts!

